Chapter 13. Committees

13.1 The following are designated committees of the Santa Cruz Division: Standing Committees, Special Committees, and all Faculties. [SB 20, SB 325] (CC 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 99; EC 31 Aug 06)

13.2 Responsibility. Each committee is responsible to the agency establishing it and is obligated to report its actions to that agency. Committees may report concurrently to other Divisional committees, the Assembly of the Academic Senate, or committees of the Academic Senate. Committees may make recommendations and render service to the President, the Chancellor, other administrative officers, and individual members of the Division, reporting their recommendations to the Division when such reporting is consistent with the original charge to the committee and is in the best interest of the University. [SB 40A-C] (CC 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 99; EC 31 Aug 06)

13.3 Jurisdiction. No Special Committees shall be established to perform any duty assigned by these Bylaws to a Standing Committee.

13.4 Membership and Voting (EC 31 Aug 08)
Membership. All voting members of all committees must be members of the Santa Cruz Division. Representatives are non-voting members of the committee. Other persons invited to sit with Standing Committees are not members of the committee. (Am 3 Dec 69, 6 Nov 91, Am 21 May 04, 20 May 09; CC 31 Aug 98; EC 31 Aug 99, 31 Aug 04)

13.4.2 Representatives. Representatives on Standing Committees as provided in these Bylaws shall be appointed by such bodies as may be recognized by the Divisional Committee on Committees. Representatives include undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and non-Senate teaching faculty. Representatives have the right to participate in committee deliberations except as provided in Bylaw 13.4.4. (Am 3 Dec 69, 6 Nov 91, Am 21 May 04, 20 May 09; CC 31 Aug 98; EC 31 Aug 99, 31 Aug 04)

13.4.3 Invitees. As provided elsewhere in this Chapter, other persons may be invited to sit with Standing Committees. (Am 3 Dec 69, 6 Nov 91, Am 21 May 04, 20 May 09; CC 31 Aug 98; EC 31 Aug 99, 31 Aug 04)

13.4.4 Executive Session. The voting members of committees in this chapter may call for an executive session by a majority vote, which is a session of the committee open only to voting members of the committee, the proceedings of which are confidential. (En 20 May 09)

13.4.5 When the Chair of the Santa Cruz Division, the Vice-Chair, Secretary, Parliamentarian, or any member of the Committees on Academic Personnel, Privilege and Tenure, or Planning and Budget accepts an administrative position with the University at the level of Dean or above, they shall immediately vacate the Academic Senate position. No Chair of a department or program of study may at the same time serve as Chair of either the Committee on Academic Personnel or the Committee on Privilege and Tenure. This is consistent with Senate Bylaw 330A. [DLI 1998.5A] (En 9 Nov 93; Am 25 Oct 95; CC 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 06; EC 12 May 97, 31 Aug 99, 21 Aug 06, 31 Aug 16)

13.4.6 Members of the Division shall avoid conflict of interest and the appearance of conflict of interest in the performance of all of their duties. The Division shall not require explanation of recusals based on this provision. (En 27 May 98; EC 31 Aug 99)

13.4.7 The Division shall not require or request explanation of voting abstentions by Senators who have the right to vote in Divisional committee action, including those involving UC Bylaw 55 actions by departments. (En 8 Mar 06)

13.4.8 Waiver of vote: Members of the Division may give up their right to vote on all actions for a specified period of time. If a member goes on leave, but chooses to participate in some personnel actions, that member cannot waive their right to vote; the actions not voted on will be recorded as “absent, not voting”, just as for a member not on leave.  If a member has a conflict of interest for any given action, not voting on that action constitutes a “recusal” (as in SCB 13.4.3) not a waiver of voting rights. (En 30 May 07; EC 31 Aug 16)

13.5 The Committee on Committees appoints members of Standing and Special Committees and designates their Chair and Vice Chair, unless otherwise specified, subject to approval of the Santa Cruz Division. The numbers of members of Standing Committees designated in the succeeding pertinent sections of this Chapter (SCB 13.9.1 through 13.29.1, except for 13.14.1) are maximum numbers only. Unless otherwise stated, the Committee on Committees has discretion to appoint a smaller number of members to any Standing Committee than that designated. Chairs, Vice Chairs, and ex officio members may vote and exercise the same powers as other members, unless limitations are stipulated in the pertinent sections of this Chapter. Chairs and Vice Chairs must be members of the Santa Cruz Division. (Am 22 Feb 67, 6 Nov 91; CC 10 May 67, 21 Feb 68, 29 May 68, 25 Feb 70 effective 1 Apr 70, 24 Feb 71, 24 May 72, 24 Oct 73, 26 May 76, 25 May 77, 1 Aug 77, 25 Jan 78, 23 May 79, 5 Dec 79, 1 Aug 80, 2 June 82, 7 Oct 87, 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 02; EC 1 Sept 70, 1 Sept 71, 1 Sept 74, 18 Oct 91, 9 June 93. 31 Aug 04, 31 Aug 06)

13.6 Members of Standing Committees are appointed each year to serve for a term of one year beginning September 1 unless otherwise specified. Special Committees are appointed to serve until August 31 immediately following their establishment unless otherwise specified in their enabling acts. Standing and Special Committees of the Santa Cruz Division, except the Committee on Committees, can be discharged by the Santa Cruz Division at any time prior to their scheduled termination date, provided the Santa Cruz Division receives at least five working days written notice of the intention to move for discharge. (Am 6 Dec 67, 6 Dec 72; CC 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 06; EC 31 Aug 05)

13.7 Reports of Standing Committees. Standing Committees prepare written annual reports which are circulated to the members of the Santa Cruz Division along with the Call to the first regular Santa Cruz Division meeting of the fall term. (Am 21 Apr 76, 27 May 98)

13.8 The Standing Committees of the Division are the following:

Academic Freedom
Academic Personnel
Admissions and Financial Aid
Career Advising
Development and Fundraising
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Courses of Instruction
Educational Policy
Emeriti Relations
Faculty Research Lecture
Faculty Welfare
Graduate Council
Information Technology
International Education
Library and Scholarly Communication
Planning and Budget
Preparatory Education
Privilege and Tenure
Rules, Jurisdiction, and Elections

(Am 10 Nov 66, 10 May 67, 21 Feb 68, 29 May 68, 4 June 69, 25 Feb 70 effective 1 Apr 70, 24 Feb 71 EI, 24 May 72, 24 Oct 73, 26 May 76, 25 May 77, 25 Jan 78 EI, 24 Jan 79, 23 May 79, 5 Dec 79, 26 Nov 80, 28 Jan 81, 2 June 82, 6 June 84, 21 May 86, 7 Oct 87, 26 Apr 06, 19 May 06; CC 1 Aug 91, 9 June 93, 21 Feb 96, 9 Nov 00, 31 Aug 03, 13 Feb 16; EC 31 Aug 04)