Chapter 12. Faculties

12.1 The constituent Faculties of the Santa Cruz Division, established by the Santa Cruz Division in accordance with SB 310A, are parallel to administrative units with the same names. The Faculties of the schools, the academic divisions, and the colleges are composed of Academic Senate members holding appointments therein. Only voting members of the Academic Senate are eligible to vote in the Faculty or Faculties of which they are members. [SB 45] (CC 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 99)

12.2 In meetings of the fellows of a college, the voting rights of fellows are as determined by the college's Bylaws; but when the Faculty of the college is meeting as a Committee of the Santa Cruz Division, only voting members of the Academic Senate may vote. At any time during a college meeting, the Chair of the meeting may rule pro tempore that the Faculty is meeting as a Committee of the Academic Senate. When necessary, the Chair shall call for a vote only of the voting members of the Faculty. (CC 31 Aug 98; EC 1 Aug 77, 31 Aug 2006)

12.3 In all matters within the province of the Academic Senate, in accordance with SB 50 and 45, the government and supervision of all agencies specified in SCB 12.1 are vested in the Faculties concerned. The chief administrative officer of a college, school, or academic division is not eligible to serve as Chair of one of these Faculties. At college meetings, the provost, although not Chair of the Faculty, may preside. The Chair of these Faculties and the members of their Executive Committees shall be elected by their respective Faculties; and the chief administrative officer shall be an ex officio member of the Executive Committee in each case. A college Faculty may select one or more other administrative officers to be included as ex officio members of its Executive Committee. (CC 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 99; EC 31 Aug 06)

12.4 Departments and Faculties of colleges and schools supervise undergraduate instruction in conformity with campus requirements of the Santa Cruz Division. [SB 50A; RSO 105.1] (CC 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 99; EC 12 May 97)

12.5 There shall be no change in the curriculum without prior consideration by the faculty members or agencies concerned. [RSO 105.2; SB 51] (CC 1 Aug 79, 4 Aug 87, 31 Aug 99)

12.6 Departments (and equivalent agencies as defined in Divisional Regulations) and, when authorized by the Academic Senate, Faculties of colleges determine major requirements. Faculties of colleges and schools, respectively, determine other college and school requirements for degrees. Recommendations for award of degrees are made in accordance with Chapter 10 of these Bylaws. (Am 4 June 69, 27 Jan 71, 23 May 79; CC 31 Aug 98; EC 12 May 97)

12.7 The Faculty of each college is responsible for the supervision of its students who fail to meet the minimum scholastic requirements specified in the Divisional Regulations. In accordance with the Santa Cruz Regulations, the Faculty of each college: (a) chooses either to disqualify or not to disqualify a student who is subject to disqualification;(b) denies or approves the readmission of a student who was earlier disqualified or who has previously withdrawn from the Santa Cruz campus of the University. [SR 900(B)] (Am 12 Apr 67; CC 31 Aug 98, 31 Aug 99; EC 1 Sept 71)

12.8 Each Faculty has the power to present to the Santa Cruz Division recommendations and proposed modifications of legislation of the Santa Cruz Division or of the Academic Senate. (CC 31 Aug 98)

12.9 Any member of the Divisional Senate has the privilege of a hearing by the appropriate committee or committees of the Santa Cruz Division on any matter relating to personal, college, school, or University welfare. [RSO 103.2, DLI 1996.2B] (CC 1 Sept 71, 31 Aug 98)