Excellence in Teaching Awards

Each year the Committee on Teaching selects faculty to receive Excellence in Teaching Awards. Given in spring, the awards honor UCSC instructors who have demonstrated exemplary and inspiring teaching. Nominations are first submitted by students and then narrowed down by the committee for further consideration. Each finalist is asked to submit a statement of teaching, and a letter of support is solicited from a colleague. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

The committee is pleased to announce the following 2018-19 winners:

  • Noriko Aso, History
  • Nathaniel Berman, Music
  • Rebecca Covarrubias, Psychology
  • Robin Dunkin, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
  • Sean Keilen, Literature
  • Adam Millard-Ball, Environmental Studies 
  • Shelley Stamp, Film and Digital Media

Courtesy of UCSC NewsCenter: Awards spotlight commitment to teaching