Distinguished Teaching Award

Starting in 2018-2019, the Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teaching on our campus. This annual award (in contrast to the Excellence in Teaching Awards that come from student nominations primarily from specific courses) is an opportunity to acknowledge the pedagogical contributions of our colleagues that include but also go beyond any 1 particular course. It seeks to recognize an instructor that has made significant contributions to educational equity within and beyond UC Santa Cruz.  

This annual distinguished teaching award is open to all faculty, teaching professors, and Unit 18 lecturers. The recipient will be honored at an event recognizing distinguished teaching at UC Santa Cruz and will be invited to share their insights on teaching at the event.

The committee is pleased to announce the following recipients:

Nathan Altice, Computational Media (2023-24)
Alegra Eroy-Reveles, Chemistry and Biochemistry (2022-23)
Nick Mitchell, Critical, Race and Ethnic Studies and Feminist Studies (2021-22)
Ingrid Parker, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (2020-21)
John Tamkun, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology (2019-20)
Jackie Gehring, Legal Studies (2019-20)

Distinguished Teaching Awards Event

Alegra Eroy-Reveles: The Paradox of Authenticity in Teaching and Mentoring
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Nick Mitchell: Reflections on Teaching as Labor, as Challenge, as Joy
Tuesday, April 25, 2023



With introductory remarks by Chancellor Larive, this event gathers the three inaugural recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award (Ingrid Parker (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology), John Tamkun (Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology), and Jackie Gehring (Legal Studies) in conversation with Sylvanna Falcón (Latin American and Latino/a Studies) to discuss their contributions to the culture of teaching that has long distinguished UCSC. We will hear about how these outstanding teachers engage their students and draw on their research in creating dynamic learning experiences for UC Santa Cruz students.