Excellence in Teaching Awards

Each year the Committee on Teaching selects faculty to receive Excellence in Teaching Awards. Given in spring, the awards honor UCSC instructors who have demonstrated exemplary and inspiring teaching. Nominations are first submitted by students and then narrowed down by the committee for further consideration.  The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

The committee is pleased to announce the following 2022-23 winners:

  • Caitlin Binder, Chemistry and Biochemistry 
  • Guido Bordignon, Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology, Ron Ruby Recipient
  • Saskias Casanova, Psychology
  • Lindsay Knisely, Writing Program 
  • Aida Mukharesh,  Sociology 
  • Kailani Polzak, History of Art and Visual Culture 
  • Andrew Quinn, Computer Science and Engineering 
  • Emily Schach, Anthropology