May 13, 2022

Senate Executive Committee Resolution on Addressing Black Institutional Experience

To: Academic Senate, Santa Cruz Division

Whereas: The Academic Senate stands in solidarity with the Student Union Assembly (SUA), Black Student Union (BSU), the Jewish Student Union (JSU), and the African American Theater Arts Troupe (AATAT) in their commitment not only to condemning bigotry and hateful acts on our campus but also to demanding that the entire campus take action to make UCSC "a place where marginalized people may not only find refuge from and critique the lagging and hateful world, but foster imaginations that can help us change that world." The SUA's recent communication ("Condemnation of Anti-Black & Anti-Semitic Vandalism" (March 2022) and BSU's "Unrelenting Anti-Blackness Demands" (May 17, 2020; revised May 17, 2021)) invite the university to develop spaces, practices, and policies that can begin doing the hard work of making our stated commitments to inclusion and diversity a reality our students can inhabit.

Therefore be it resolved:

The Academic Senate calls on the administration to convene a meeting with representatives of these groups to provide clear communication on the university's progress on responding to the demands laid out in these communications, documenting where progress has been made, establishing a timeline for future actions, and providing clear explanations of areas where action does not appear to be possible from the administration's point of view.

The Academic Senate further calls on the administration to respond to the demands for transparency and accountability in the policies governing the police on campus. As a step toward informing the university community about the state of the reform measures previously proposed, we ask the administration to commit to open and ongoing dialogue and genuine engagement with key UCSC communities, including discussion of policy, providing data, and answering questions. In particular, this dialogue should involve arranging discussions specifically for student stakeholder groups, affording them significant control over the agenda and invitation list and providing them with opportunities to share their unique stakes and perspectives.

Respectfully submitted,

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Gina Dent
Andy Fisher
Patty Gallagher
Julie Guthman
Jorge Hankamer
Catherine (Kate) Jones
Tracy Larrabee
Kim Lau

Aims McGuinness
Grant McGuire
Dard Neuman
Nico Orlandi
Stefano Profumo
Kirsten Silva Gruesz
David Smith
Susan Strome
David Brundage, *Chair*