EVENT PROGRAM

Welcoming Remarks

Patty Gallagher, Academic Senate Chair, Professor, Theater Arts

Opening Remarks

Lori G Kletzer, Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

BSOE Welcome

Alexander Wolf, Baskin School of Engineering Dean, Distinguished Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Introduction

Katia Obraczka, Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Faculty Research Lecture

J. J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves, Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Audience Q&A

Moderated by Katia Obraczka

A reception will be held following the program.



Sponsored By:

UC Santa Cruz Academic Senate UCSC Chancellor's Office Baskin School of Engineering Computer Science and Engineering Dept.

PAST FACULTY RESEARCH LECTURERS

den

2021	Jennifer A. González
2020	Terrie M. Williams
2019	Lise Getoor
2018	Carl Walsh
2017	Sandra Chung
2016	Susan Strome
2015	Craig Haney
2014	Howard Haber and Abraham Se
2013	Gail Hershatter
2012	Steve Vogt
2011	Paul Whitworth
2010	Daniel Friedman
2009	Patricia Zavella
2008	Stantord E. Woosley
200/	Geottrey K. Pullum
2006	Nathaniel Mackey
2005	Mary Silver
2004	Barbara Rogott
2003	Jonathan Beecher
2002	David Haussler
2001	
2000	David S. Kliger
1999	Advia Cope
1990	Aarienne Ziniman Denald E. Osterbreedt
177/	
1990	Donna J. Haraway
1995	G William Domboff
1774	G. William Domnorr
1775	Juck Zajac Audros Stanlos
1772	Harry Borgor Jr
1000	Sandra M. Fabor
1020	Thomas F Pettiarew
1088	Gerhard Ringel
1987	
1986	Richard A Wasserstrom
1985	Kenneth S. Norris
1984	Havden White
1983	Frank X. Barron
1982	Robert E. Garrison
1981	Robert P. Kraft
1980	John A. Marcum
1979	C. L. Barber
1978	Norman O. Brown
1977	Harry Beevers
1976	M. Brewster Smith
1975	Joseph F. Bunnett
1974	Albert Hofstadter
1973	Aaron C. Waters
1972	Theodore R. Sarbin
1971	Joseph H. Silverman
1970	Kenneth V. Thimann
1969	Page Smith
1968	Albert Edward Whitford

1967 Maurice Alexander Natanson

56TH ANNUAL

FACULTY RESEARCH LECTURE

Distinguished Professor J. J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves



Research Directions on Communication Protocols for Intelligent Information Infrastructures

MAY 11, 2023 • 7:00 PM University Center, Bhojwani Dining Room

Research Directions on Communication Protocols for Intelligent Information Infrastructures

The computer networks we enjoy today have been built based on the initial designs by giants in the field of computer networks dating back to the 1960's to 1980's. These architectures and protocols have proven to be remarkably useful; however, the communication, computing, and storage resources available today are many orders of magnitude larger and far more affordable than researchers could have ever imagined 50 years ago.

The availability of vast computing resources today allows us to reimagine how the Internet could operate if far more machine

intelligence were used inside the networks themselves, rather than just at the servers and clients using them, and to develop new network architectures and protocols for intelligent information infrastructures.



In this talk I describe early results showing how communication protocols can be reimagined taking into account machine intelligence and memory, and outline research directions for the development of protocols for intelligent information infrastructures.

UC SANTA CRUZ



Distinguished Professor J. J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves

J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) and serves as CSE Department Chair and CITRIS Campus Director. He joined the Computer Engineering Department at UCSC in 1993 JJ has led the Computer Communication Research Group for the past 30 years, currently serves as CSE Department Chair and CITRIS Campus Director, and is retiring later this year [to join the University ofToronto].

JJ was elected a Corresponding Member of the Mexican Academy of

Sciences in 2013. He is a Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE); and is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association (AAIA).

JJ received the 2023 Harry H. Goode Memorial Award from the IEEE Computer Society "for significant and pioneering contributions to algorithms, protocols and architectures for routing in computer

How

communication protocols can be reimagined taking into account machine intelligence and memory networks and the Internet," the 2017 George E. Pake Golden Oak Award from PARC, the 2016 IEEE MILCOM Technical Achievement Award, the 2012 IEEE Communications Society AHSNTCTechnical Recognition Award, and the 2011 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award. He holds 70 U.S. patents and has published

more than 500 papers in journals, conferences as received more than a

and books. His published work has received more than a dozen Best-Paper awards, more than 43,000 citations, and has resulted in an h-index of 103.



