January 31, 2022

HERBERT LEE Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

RE: Administrative Planning for WASC/WSCUC Reaccreditation

Dear Herbie,

The Academic Senate has reviewed your proposed project outline for planned Senate Consultation on UCSC's next WASC/WSCUC reaccreditation review, planned for fall 2025. The project outline lays out a multi-year plan for the work the campus will undertake in preparation for the review. The following committees reviewed the document: Affirmative Action and Diversity (CAAD), Educational Policy (CEP), Graduate Council (GC), and Planning and Budget (CPB). Committees expressed appreciation for receiving this outline and your action to inform the Senate early in the process regarding the opportunities for engagement and input at various stages leading up to the review.

All committees commented on the upcoming opportunity to provide input on the thematic areas later this academic year. Graduate Council and CPB emphasized that they are looking forward to working with you early enough in the process to have in-depth consultation on the development of thematic areas to be selected, developed, and addressed in the review. CAAD and CEP expressed support for educational equity as the campus theme.

Additionally, CAAD suggested that because student success arises from an overall campus culture that promotes equity, investigation of the achievement gap for undergraduate students from underrepresented groups and students with disabilities should also involve a vertical examination of how well the values of diversity and inclusion are functioning among the ranks of graduate students, faculty, and administrators.

Graduate Council endorsed the inclusion of the GC chair on the WASC steering committee.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment.

Sincerely,

Down Bundage

David Brundage, Chair Academic Senate

cc: Cynthia Larive, Chancellor Lori Kletzer, Campus Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor Vice Provost and Dean Biehl Vice Provost and Dean Hughey Academic Deans Associate Chancellor Finn Assistant EVC Rhoads Associate Vice Chancellor Register Special Assistant Jarvinen Executive Director Mednick Associate Vice Provost Greene Director Fernald Assistant Director Sher Analyst Brondarbit Special Assistant Cohen Kirsten Silva Gruesz, Chair, Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity Tracy Larrabee, Chair, Committee on Educational Policy Melissa Caldwell, Chair, Graduate Council Dard Neuman, Chair, Committee on Planning and Budget