December 5, 2022

CINDY LARIVE Chancellor

LORI KLETZER

Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

RE: Transfer of CHES to the Division of Student Affairs and Success

Dear Cindy and Lori,

The Academic Senate has reviewed the proposed plan to transfer Colleges, Housing, and Educational Services (CHES) from the Division of Finance, Operations and Administration (FOA) to the Division of Student Affairs and Success (DSAS). The Committees on Affirmative Action and Diversity (CAAD), Development and Fundraising (CDF), Educational Policy (CEP), Planning and Budget (CPB), and Rules, Jurisdictions and Elections (RJE) have responded.

Overall, reviewing committees expressed support for the plan to transfer CHES to the Division of Student Affairs and Success. A few committees provided additional feedback about how specific units currently under CHES might be better placed post transfer. For example, CPB noted that some areas of CHES might not best fit under DSAS, including possibly employee housing, facilities, affiliated community housing, early education services, and business and financial services. CEP specifically noted that the Bay Tree Campus Store might best stay under FOA, and that Early Education Services might be separated from housing to better serve parents and students. CAAD proposed deeper consideration of equity implications, and suggested that the campus consider whether student conduct belongs under CHES, or elsewhere in DSAS. CAAD suggested the transfer of CHES might also provide an opportunity to consider the relationship of traditional student conduct processes and the Peer Review Board (PRB), with attention to the demographics of students who move through these processes.

The Senate appreciated the opportunity to comment on the proposed plan to transfer CHES to the Division of Student Affairs and Success.

Sincerely,

Patty Gallagher, Chair Academic Senate

cc: Anna Finn, Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff
Ann Pham, Assistant Executive Vice Chancellor/Chief of Staff
Kirsten Silva Gruesz, Chair, Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity

Karen Holl, Chair, Committee on Development and Fundraising David Cuthbert, Chair, Committee on Educational Policy Dard Neuman, Chair, Committee on Planning and Budget Eleonora Pasotti, Chair, Rules, Jurisdiction and Elections Matthew Mednick, Executive Director, Academic Senate