COMMITTEE ON EDUCATIONAL POLICY Amendment to Regulations for Chapter 11 Dean's Honors

To: Academic Senate, Santa Cruz Division

The Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) proposes to extend Dean's Honors recognition to students who have succeeded in a given term within the personal, familial, economic, or other constraints they face, regardless of their unit load. We intend to ensure students with disabilities may become eligible for quarterly honors based on excellence in their part-time course load, as well as considering students who are in their last quarter completing degree requirements. A statistical sampling using the Baskin Engineering GPA standard of 3.8 for Dean's honors shows that 34% of all students (5,569 out of 16,265) would be eligible using this rubric. However, when looking at part-time students, those listing Senior standing as the reason for being part-time the percentage goes up to 55% (272 of 493). We find these scenarios present reasonable cause to alter the regulation.

11.6

Existing Regulation

Proposed Regulation

11.6	Students will be eligible for quarterly Dean's Honors if they
	have earned a minimum of 15
	credits that quarter, of which at
	least 10 are graded, with a term
	grade point average equal to or
	higher than that required for
	University Honors at graduation in
	their group for the current academic
	year. Dean's Honors are listed on
	student transcripts. (En 9 Nov 07)

Full-time students will be eligible for quarterly Dean's Honors if they have earned a minimum of 12 credits that quarter, of which at least 10 are graded, with a term grade point average equal to or higher than that required for University Honors at graduation in their group for the current academic year.

Students on the University Part
Time Program are eligible with 10
or fewer graded credits, with a term
grade point average equal to or
higher than that required for
University Honors at graduation in
their group for the current
academic year. Dean's Honors are
listed on student transcripts.

Respectfully submitted;
COMMITTEE ON EDUCATIONAL POLICY
Cormac Flanagan
Alma Heckman
Kyle Parry
Amanda Rysling, CCI Chair ex officio
Tchad Sanger, ex officio
John Tamkun
Eileen Zurbriggen
David Lee Cuthbert, Chair

January 17, 2024