Senate Executive Committee Statement on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment

The Senate Executive Committee condemns all forms of sexual violence and sexual harassment. As a campus community we are committed to ending sexual misconduct on our campus, whether it involves faculty, students, or staff. We must speak up if we are subjected to or witness sexual harassment to communicate that we do not condone such behavior; through these actions, we can foster a climate that moves beyond compliance and toward the elimination of sexual misconduct. We take seriously the requirement to report such incidents when we have knowledge of them, even if that knowledge occurs through informal networks. The campus administration, in turn, must be transparent, to the extent allowable by law, during all investigations of such abuse, and the administration's actions must show that there are serious consequences when sexual violence or sexual harassment policies are violated. As faculty members, we are students' teachers, mentors, and role models. Students must be able to trust that faculty will not abuse our positions of influence and power by sexually harassing or assaulting them. It is deeply troubling when a faculty member violates this trust. Students should never have to be afraid to come forward with complaints of sexual misconduct for fear of retribution. We pledge to work with the administration to lead the way in creating a campus community free from sexual violence and sexual harassment.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Carla Freccero, Committee on Academic Personnel Miriam Greenberg, Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity Jorge Hankamer, Committee on Privilege and Tenure Yat Li, Committee on International Education Matthew McCarthy, Committee on Teaching Micah Perks, Committee on Committees Stefano Profumo, Committee on Faculty Welfare Abel Rodriguez, Committee on Planning and Budget David Smith, Committee on Admissions and Financial Aid Don Smith, Graduate Council John Tamkun, Committee on Educational Policy Steve Whittaker, Committee on Research Dorian Bell, Assembly Representative Heather Shearer, Secretary Kim Lau, Vice Chair Ólőf Einarsdóttir, Chair